Book Review: Dwelling Places by Vinita Hampton Wright

Map of USA with Iowa highlighted

Image via Wikipedia

I found Vinita Hampton Wright by accident. I’m part of a writers’ conference newsfeed, I guess (I don’t remember signing up for it), and Wright’s book, The Soul Tells a Story was going to be the focus for a workshop at the conference. I kept the email because the book looked interesting. However, it was four months until I considered the book again.

One Saturday, I was cleaning up emails, and I noticed the Soul email again. I read through the review and then looked the title up on my library’s online catalog. Sure enough, they carried the Soul book as well as other books by Wright. I decided to reserve a bunch of her titles, including Dwellling Places.

I just finished Dwelling Places over the weekend. The tale takes place in Iowa as one family goes their four separate ways to find comfort in the midst of losing their farm. Mack deals with depression, his wife, Jodie, has an affair, Kenzie finds solace in fundalmentalist Christianity, and the son, Young Taylor, finds comfort with the Goths.

Wright shares the perspective of each person in the family, including Mack’s mother, Rita. We see the family’s trials through each person’s eyes, and as the turning point comes together, we see these conflicting comforts fall apart, and the family come together again, but with a new perspective to each person within the family unit. Values and beliefs are challenged and stretched, but not denigrated and thrown away for a modern band aid. A truly wonderful story.

Wright doesn’t write a trashy or simplistic novel, but a story illustrating how people deal with change by either turning to faith or despair, people or images. Wright writes with passion and she understands the human condition mingled with hope and faith.

I highly recommend this book if you’re interested in looking at your own soul and asking yourself, “How would I react if I was put in this situation?” A trite or easy answer will not work, and instead, Wright puts a mirror up for the reader to see into her own psyche and soul when faced with trials. I give this five out of five stars.

About wendykomancheck

Are you in the casual living/hardscape, garden center, landscape, or lawn care industry? Do you want to rank high in your Google rankings? Do you want to put yourself on Google's map? Then, you came to the right place. I help small to medium-sized green businesses with their web content, landing pages, blogs, and other online writing needs. Is your web developer helping you or do you feel ignored when you have questions about Google ranking and analytics? Do you want to help developing your digital marketing so more prospects in your region call you before they call your competitor? Then, I can help you. In addition to my writing services, I've also developed relationships with an internet marketing agency and a social media expert who I can refer to you. And you can feel comfortable because both of these people live in my region and I've developed a relationship with them where I trust them and strongly believe that they'll help you get a leg up in the online world. For more information about my writing services and prices, please email me at wendy@landscapewriter.com or phone me at 717-405-9873 (EST).
This entry was posted in Good Reads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

