It’s Summertime and the Living is Easy?

 Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way that they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to too much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure,  to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.”

Titus 2:3 NIV

It’s summertime, and the living is supposed to be easy. But you, as a WAHM, know that it can get a little complicated when the kids are home from school. My case in point: Today, is the first, official day that my children are off from school. I’m trying to balance my writing assignments while trying to get the kids to finish their chores, not to fight, and to go outside to enjoy the sunshine. There are rewards involved in this–one child has a sleepover to go to and the other has saved up his money to buy a DS–which we’re planning on buying one tonight. Both of these activities won’t happen if the kiddos don’t get along, don’t go outside for at least 15 minutes every hour, and if they don’t get their chores done on time.

Of course, you’ll read in many WAHM blogs, Web sites, and books to get a sitter, work while the kids sleep, ignore the kids, etc. But I take a different path to dealing with kids at home. I do what my Amish and Mennonite neighbors do. Many of them are farmers or small business owners. They incorporate family life with their work. Granted, there are older siblings  that can help Mom during the day or occassionally, the young mom will get a mother’s helper. But, overall, these families include their children in their work–they don’t put the kids to the side in order to work. Thus, that’s what I aim to do as a writer. It’s a little bit harder, since writers need solitude, but I believe it can be done with some creativity.

WAHMS–we decided to work out of our homes so we could enjoy motherhood. Embrace it–and embrace your children at the same time. Include them in your work–whether that means that they work on their writing while you interview, report, and edit. Or teach them to stuff envelopes. Maybe they play quietly at your feet (I know; this is a perfect scenario that I dream of every summer). Every WAHM has different tasks that need to be done on a daily basis. Yet, we all need to remember that these times with our children are short-lived–and we’ll have more time when they’re out of the nest–to work full-time with no distractions. For now, however, try to make it through the day, working at home and enjoying the “easy living” with your children while there is still time.

About wendykomancheck

Are you in the casual living/hardscape, garden center, landscape, or lawn care industry? Do you want to rank high in your Google rankings? Do you want to put yourself on Google's map? Then, you came to the right place. I help small to medium-sized green businesses with their web content, landing pages, blogs, and other online writing needs. Is your web developer helping you or do you feel ignored when you have questions about Google ranking and analytics? Do you want to help developing your digital marketing so more prospects in your region call you before they call your competitor? Then, I can help you. In addition to my writing services, I've also developed relationships with an internet marketing agency and a social media expert who I can refer to you. And you can feel comfortable because both of these people live in my region and I've developed a relationship with them where I trust them and strongly believe that they'll help you get a leg up in the online world. For more information about my writing services and prices, please email me at wendy@landscapewriter.com or phone me at 717-405-9873 (EST).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

